Freedom to…

We the People, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, ensure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare and hence, and secure the Blessing of Liberty, for ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution, for the United State of America.

I have to admit that I just recited* that. Actually, I sang it, and I have to give credit Schoolhouse Rock. (If you are not sure what I am talking about, please reference the catchy tune.) I was reminded of the Preamble of our Constitution while I was reading The Nine: Inside the Secret World of the Supreme Court by Jeffrey Toobin,  a phenomenal look at the power and influence of the highest court in our country.

What I am reminded of is that our founding fathers had amazing foresight, not for everything they included, but in the structure they created to make it amendable, with the realization that they could not account for everything our country would face.

I am reminded of this especially during an election year. I would challenge you, actually I would push you, to educate yourself: on the issues, on the candidate, and especially on the rights we have as citizens.I hope that you each seriously consider your freedom to think and your right to vote.

*Reference was made to the original text to correct for capitalization, punctuation, and correct word usage.

2 thoughts on “Freedom to…

  1. I couldn’t agree more! In these intellectually-lean times of sound-bites, “gotcha moments,” and appeals to emotion (rather than rationality), we, the people, need to be better informed in order to elect members of Congress that will actually represent us, not other special interests whose goals are contrary to the public good.

    It’s great to see another good citizen pushing for an informed electorate!

Leave a Reply

