Calvinball

#Reverbroads post for today: If someone made a board game of your life, what would it look like? What pieces would you need to play? (from Jessica)

My life, like many of yours, is never the same from day to day. With a three and seven year old and working with college students, the rules change everyday for me. Just when I think I have figured out that she likes ranch dip with her chicken nuggets, she switches to ketchup. Just when I think I have mastered a system involving student records, the entire system is overhauled and I am left holding the CTRL key.

So when I think of a game that doesn’t really make sense, the characters are ever-evolving, and rules are thrown out the window, well, then my life would be a board game variation of Calvinball. Fans of the comic strip Calvin and Hobbes are well aware of Calvinball.

In my board game version of Calvinball, the pieces would include a smartphone, a permission slip from school, and my Jeep Liberty. The next time played, pieces would include my English Setter, laptop, and a half eaten bagel. The next time might include…well, you get the picture.

Rules might include: Fussing can only be completed during the eating of breakfast. Right before a paper is due for your doctorate, one of the kids will get sick. You must respond to all 120 emails, or an upset parent penalty will be issued. Laughter is only permitted if the cat gets stuck in a shopping bag.

The fun part is, the rules change. You can create a new rule right in the middle of play.The only true rule to the game is that it must be played differently each time.

Calvinball has its own theme song:

Other kids’ games are all such a bore!
They’ve gotta have rules and they gotta keep score!
Calvinball is better by far!
It’s never the same! It’s always bizarre!
You don’t need a team or a referee!
You know that it’s great, ’cause it’s named after me!

I regularly come up with theme songs, and this would be a rule I would implement on a varying basis. Today, it was a parody of “I Will Survive” after braving the aisles of Target for a last minute supply. Yep, I would rock at Calvinball.

2 thoughts on “Calvinball

  1. I ❤ Calvin and Hobbes, and I ❤ this post! In fact, when we first learned we were having a son, we used to joke that both the best and worst case scenarios would be having our own Calvin. And now we have him, right down to a beloved stuffed tiger. And you're so right about the shifting play of everyday life!

Leave a Reply

