The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats

As part of a month-long challenge in stamina, I am joining some other rocking bloggers in following prompts from #reverbbroads11. Today, I get to respond to my own prompt suggestion of: What is your favorite children’s book?

Ok, so I cheated and knew which book I was going to choose to answer my own prompt. And despite my rampant affinity to children’s books, especially as I discover new ones with my girls, I would always, always be drawn back to The Snowy Day. I had several of Ezra Jack Keats books as a kid. I strongly recommend Whistle for Willie, which is my 3 year-old’s current favorite.

I can’t tell you why I love Snowy Day so much. Perhaps because I really have always loved snow, especially as a kid growing up in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Perhaps because I, like so many other kids, did try to save a snowball as a child. Perhaps because these were really the only books in the late 70s which had characters that looked like my cousins. Perhaps it is because I remember my mom being so animated when she read it to me, just as I am overly animated when I read it to my girls.

Perhaps, it was because the snow fell down on his head. Plop.

Whatever the reason, I love this book. I quote lines in my head when playing the snow with my girls. I have walked with my toes pointed out like this, and I have walked with my toes in like that.

Everything is so incredibly simple in this book. It’s what childhood should be, and I love taking that journey with little Peter.

I have my youngest daughters room decorated with quotes from Where the Wild Things Are, The Lorax, and Goodnight Moon. I love all of those books. But I am most excited when she asks me to read The Snowy Day.

Feel free to read along, and find a good stick for hitting a snow covered tree:

Side Note:

It wasn’t until recently that I learned of the backlash that Ezra Jack Keats received for casting a little Black boy as his main character. I encourage you to read about the Caldecott Medal this book received, and the author’s thoughts on his book.

6 thoughts on “The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats

  1. I absolutely love Ezra Jack Keats, but it wasn’t until I was *much* older that I realized that all the children in his books were African-American. Guess it just never mattered — I knew exactly what he was talking about, growing up in Wisconsin, as much as if I’d grown up in Philly or Brooklyn. It’s true when they say that kids don’t care about the differences.

Leave a Reply

