To Blog or Not to Blog

As part of a month-long challenge to blog daily, I am following the directions from #reverbbroads11. Today’s prompt: Why blog? Why do you or why do you like to blog (recognizing that these are not always the same thing)? (from rockstar Kristen, http://kristendomblogs.com)

I have no idea why I started blogging.

I wish I could say I had some amazing inspiration I had to share with the world, but that would be a load of bunk. Truly, I just enjoyed how blogs can take the conversation in a new place. Where else can you challenge, debate, share, and learn from so many from so far? And I truly love how blogs can be an outlet for students. If I get the chance to teach my first year seminar again, I will definitely incorporate blogging. Having students find their voice would be…perfection (Chandler Bing, 1994).

And I love to hear other people’s stories. In saying goodbye to my grandfather this week, I can’t help but think he would have loved blogging. He was a “newsman,” having interviewed JFK, Johnson, and Ford. His memoirs of being a SeaBee (construction battalion)  in WWII were hilarious, and I am so glad that he wrote them down. And the stories he could tell from his time on the bench would have been blog-worthy. You would all love to hear his stories, and it makes me smile thinking of them.

But I think Barney Stinson demonstrates the best side effect of blogging…

We get to discover that we are all awesome.

5 thoughts on “To Blog or Not to Blog

Leave a Reply

